Uncorked goes South Africa – my wishlist!

I asked my swedish Facebookfriends to name their favorite south african wines – and I got quite a good response (see here!). Swedes love south african wine and we got quite a good range at the swedish monopoly.

Therefore it is with great pleasure that I can announce that Ericsson Uncorked is going to South Africa – already next week. Me and videoproducer Björn Lilja are now preparing a seven day tour that will take us from Cape Town and Constantia, south towards Elgin and Walker Bay, then north towards Stellenbosch and Paarl and finally even further north to Swartland and Darling.

And it is quite hard work to choose which among such a number of great wine producers.

So this is my wishlist (in no particular order). Unfortunately we will not be able to visit all of these wineries – but some have already been booked and I am really looking forward to meeting the people behind them. Others have still to confirm. I will keep you posted along the way.

But for now – who or which producers have I missed?

Constantia/Cape Point

• Groot Constantia

• Klein Constantia

• Constantia Uitsig

• Cape Point Vineyards

Elgin/Overberg/Walker Bay

• Paul Cluver

• Newton Johnson

• Hamilton Russell

• Bouchard-Finlayson

 Oak Valley

• Hermanuspietersfontain

Stellenbosch

• Spier

• Thelema Mountain Vineyards

• Vergelegen

• Morgenster

• Meerlust

• Delheim

• Tokara

• De Trafford

De Toren

• Le Riche

• Raats Family Wines

• Kanonkop

• Haskell Vineyards

• Beyerskloof

 Paarl/Franschoek

• Boekenhoutskloof

• Neederburg

• Fariview

• Colmant

•  Chamonix

Swartland

• Eben Sadie

• Allesverloren

• Mullineux

• Badenhorst

Lammershoek private wine cellar

Darling

• Groote Post

Cederberg

• Cederberg Private Cellar

Calitzdorp

• De Krans

• Axe Hill

Robertson

• Springfield


  1. Hey Magnus, just picked up a tweet from you. It would be great to have you at Backsberg. When are you planning on making the trip? I am actually currently in Sweden, but heading home for the harvest soon. Be in touch, Simon

    • Would love to visit and taste your wines. We are a bit pressed for time and I have already booked up quite a hectic route – but I will most definitely keep Backsberg in mind!

  2. Darryl

    Check out Lammershoek & Craig Hawkins, Donovan Rall & Vuurberg, Reyneke, The Foundry, Keermont, Iona, Rustenburg, Solms-Delta – too many really

  3. Richard

    Try to schedule Lammershoek too; you’ll love Craig Hawkins, the winemaker. He’a doing sone seriously cool stuff. They’re next to Eben Sadie, and close to Adi Badenhorst and Mullineux.

    Also very cool are Scali; the best Pinotage in South Africa (yes, there is such a thing😉

    • Thanks for the input Richard! I will most definitely check out Lammershoek. I have been in touch with Eben Sadie – but I do not know if we can meet him. His ventures in the north may call on him since the harvest starts already in january! And thanks for the Scali tip. I’ve been trying to book a meeting with Beyerskloof – unsuccessfully I must admit!😉

      • Agree strongly with Richard. Lammershoek shouldn’t be missed if you’re in the Swartland pocket right along Badenhorst and Mullineux (and you score audience at Sadie) but also the somewhat secret gem of character and purity, The Observatory..

      • Thanks for the suggestions. We are indeed meeting up with Mullineux and hopefully Sadie. I’m not sure that we will have time for more – but Badenhorst and now also Lammershoek are now on my list!😉

      • @Tobias is the Observatory still going strong? I thought that had kind of fizzled out after Tom Lubbe left?

      • Tobias

        When I was there, Cathy Lubbe was doing good work, fresh and uniquely characterful wines, though I think not releasing every vintage. I’ve imported her wines privately twice now which I rarely do. I really hope she carries on.

  1. 1 Mullineux Syrah – stunning south african in a Rhôn-a-dub style « ericsson uncorked

    […] in wine loving circles. The likes of Eben Sadie, Adi Badenhorst, Lammershoek (thanks to Richard for the suggestion) and now also Mullineux Wines are setting new standards in a district that until recently was […]




Leave a Reply

  • About Magnus

    Swedish News Editor & wine columnist at Helsingborgs Daily/hd.se (regional morning paper in the south west of Sweden). I am also hosting a TV-program on local television channel 24HD callad Uncorked: Uppkorkat TV I am a wine nerd, black music lover (soul, funk, hip hop) and a wannabe foodie. You'll find my wine articles in swedish here: Uppkorkat
  • About ericsson uncorked

    My thoughts on wine, wine regions and the wine business. For those of you who speak swedish - you can read my blog Uppkorkat: Uppkorkat. Here I'll try to write shorter articles - but I can't promise that I won't digress! ;)
  • Archives


