Gianni Voerzios La Serra 2003

The 2003 vintage was difficult throughout Europe. Scorching hot weather meant at best early drinking wines without much distinction or elegance and at worst harsh tannic ones (or cooked – depending on the producer or district) that didn’t pack the fruit to back the tannins up.

Arguably some producers did make a better job than others and I therefore find it interesting to see how the 2003s are coming a long nine years on. I can’t say that I see many 2003s these days but I do got one or two bottles left in my possession. One of those is Gianni Voerzios lovely Barolo La Serra.

Gianni is the less famous of the two brothers Voerzio (the other one is Roberto who’s wines got a cult following and play in a completely different price-league). Gianni Voerzios Barolo La Serra must be one of the best bargains in whole of Piedmont. In Sweden his single vineyard wines usually sells for what you pay for generic Barolos from big companies like Fontanafredda (that is for less than €30).

I know that some wine tasters (at least here in Sweden) think that his wines are a bit heavy on the oak. I’m usually not a big fan of new wood but I must confess that I have never found La Serra to be particularly over oaked in any way.

So how is the Barolo La Serra 2003 coming along? Real fine if you ask me! This is still quite a tannic wine that needs some time in a decanter to soften up the hard edges. But the fruit is luckily still there. On the nose it got all the tell tale signs of nebbiolo with cherries, roses, cocoa powder, maybe a whiff of tar and tobacco. In the mouth it is medium bodied and mixes fresh and dried cherry flavors with chocolate/cocoa powder and tobacco. And, of course, it got that mouth drying aftertaste that is quintessential barolo.

I think I might leave my other 2003 nebbiolos to rest for a couple of more years!

(Last year I opened a La Serra 2000 – you can read about that wine here!)




    Leave a Reply

      • About Magnus

    Swedish News Editor & wine columnist at Helsingborgs Daily/hd.se (regional morning paper in the south west of Sweden). I am also hosting a TV-program on local television channel 24HD callad Uncorked: Uppkorkat TV I am a wine nerd, black music lover (soul, funk, hip hop) and a wannabe foodie. You'll find my wine articles in swedish here: Uppkorkat
  • About ericsson uncorked

    My thoughts on wine, wine regions and the wine business. For those of you who speak swedish - you can read my blog Uppkorkat: Uppkorkat. Here I'll try to write shorter articles - but I can't promise that I won't digress! ;)
  • Archives


